Sorry, but Notd.io is not available without javascript Search - notd.io
Collapse Menu

Filter By Location

Filter by Media

You searched in Entertainment.

24 results found.

Rating at least:( )( )( )( )( )
24 Notes Results

Movie and Television News

Movie and Television News

Matthew Fraga
Jan 13, 2020
The new year started with the exciting news that actor-phenom Timothée Chalamet will play folk icon Bob Dylan in a biopic directed by James Mangold. The film supposedly will focus on Dylan’s transition from folk to rock music.

Movie and Television News

Movie and Television News

Matthew Fraga
Jan 13, 2020
This past year was one of the best years of film that I can remember, and I don’t say that every year like Apple does upon the newest, best iPhone whatever number to release. It truly was a fantastic year for movies, due in large part to unique stories, greenlighted by independent studios such as A24. Some honorable mentions are “The King,” “Joker,” “Uncut Gems,” and “Marriage Story.” Moreover, here are five of my favorite films of the year:

Reviews

Reviews

Yingyee Xiong
Dec 17, 2019
Despite some changes to the live version of the classic As You Like It by William Shakespeare, the American Players Theatre is successful in portraying the play to the audience. The play is successful through a great cast, the actors’ acting, and the use of stage production.

Movie and Television News

Movie and Television News

Matthew Fraga
Jan 10, 2020
Not since the Safdie Brothers 2017 film “Good Time” have I seen such an anxiety inducing film as “Uncut Gems.” The film follows Howard Ratner, an unfaithful, degenerate gambling addict in New York City.

Movie and Television News

Movie and Television News

Matthew Fraga
Nov 7, 2019
What makes a bad movie? When thinking about this question, I like to contemplate a variety of factors. I consider how bad the acting is, how underdeveloped story is, and how often the director disrespects the audience’s intelligence. I also like to think about how true the movie is to its intended genre. Is the horror movie scary? Is the comedy funny? Sure, these are subjective standards. What I find funny, you may not and vice versa. However, I think the true test of how bad a movie is depends on how you react during the film. Are you constantly checking the time on your phone? Does it take multiple viewings to get through the movie?

Movie and Television News

Movie and Television News

Matthew Fraga
Nov 30, 2019
I am a firm believer that the trailer is one of the most important pieces of a movie. It is incredibly difficult to strike the perfect balance between showing the audience enough to pique their interest, but not so much that you spoil the movie. Another difficulty is accurately conveying the movie’s tone. Most of the time, trailers mislead the audience and give away too much. As is the case with the “Ford v Ferrari” trailers. From the trailers, it would be fair to assume that the movie’s central focus is around the 1966 Le Mans race, and the production of Ford’s GT40 race car leading up to it.

Reviews

Reviews

Yingyee Xiong
Dec 17, 2019
Despite the worldwide famous movie Iron Man, directed by Jon Favreau, it fails because of the movie’s clichéd ending. The protagonist, which is assumed to be dead after a climactic fight, comes back alive and defeats the antagonist.

Movie and Television News

Movie and Television News

Matthew Fraga
Dec 1, 2019
There is a degree of maturity and patience in “The Irishman” that is unlike anything I have seen. This could only be accomplished by a director like Martin Scorsese. He somehow makes the most mundane and unassuming scenes so damn entertaining. With a three-and-a-half-hour runtime, one would expect frequent bombastic scenes to keep the audience engaged. However, Scorsese seldom implements violence, and when he does, it’s thoroughly gripping. Most of the time, Scorsese elongates scenes by holding the camera on a face longer than expected. Instead of looking away, you look closer and consider what thoughts are racing through the character’s head.

Movie and Television News

Movie and Television News

Matthew Fraga
Nov 12, 2019
The reason I love movies, is that for two hours I can enter another world. All my worries and doubts take a back seat, and I become a part of a new reality. This is especially the case in Robert Egger’s "The Lighthouse," starring Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattinson.

Movie and Television News

Movie and Television News

Matthew Fraga
Oct 24, 2019
This is it, the final chapter in a franchise that has spanned five decades. Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker will be the third epsiode in the Star Wars sequel trilogy, and the ninth and final episode in the “Skywalker Saga.” J.J. Abrams will once again be directing the film. He directed Episode 7, the first in the sequel trilogy. Abrams took a hiatus leaving Rian Johnson to direct Episode 8. Many were disappointed by Johnson’s effort, saying that there was a disconnect between the first two films. Abrams will surely have his work cut out for him in wrapping up countless story lines in a satisfactory manner. Though, if anyone can do it, it’s him.