Sorry, but Notd.io is not available without javascript Search - notd.io
Collapse Menu

Filter By Location

Filter by Media

You searched in All categories.

44 results found.

Rating at least:( )( )( )( )( )
44 Notes Results

Reviews

Reviews

Elizabeth Yang
Jan 17, 2020
Although I have lived here my whole life, there is still many places I have never tried. I've been recommended to try this restaurant for quite some time, so this is my review of my first impression of Taiwan Little Eats.

Movie and Television News

Movie and Television News

Matthew Fraga
Jan 13, 2020
The new year started with the exciting news that actor-phenom Timothée Chalamet will play folk icon Bob Dylan in a biopic directed by James Mangold. The film supposedly will focus on Dylan’s transition from folk to rock music.

Movie and Television News

Movie and Television News

Matthew Fraga
Jan 13, 2020
This past year was one of the best years of film that I can remember, and I don’t say that every year like Apple does upon the newest, best iPhone whatever number to release. It truly was a fantastic year for movies, due in large part to unique stories, greenlighted by independent studios such as A24. Some honorable mentions are “The King,” “Joker,” “Uncut Gems,” and “Marriage Story.” Moreover, here are five of my favorite films of the year:

Movie and Television News

Movie and Television News

Matthew Fraga
Jan 10, 2020
Not since the Safdie Brothers 2017 film “Good Time” have I seen such an anxiety inducing film as “Uncut Gems.” The film follows Howard Ratner, an unfaithful, degenerate gambling addict in New York City.

Reviews

Reviews

Yingyee Xiong
Dec 17, 2019
Despite the worldwide famous movie Iron Man, directed by Jon Favreau, it fails because of the movie’s clichéd ending. The protagonist, which is assumed to be dead after a climactic fight, comes back alive and defeats the antagonist.

Reviews

Reviews

Yingyee Xiong
Dec 17, 2019
Despite some changes to the live version of the classic As You Like It by William Shakespeare, the American Players Theatre is successful in portraying the play to the audience. The play is successful through a great cast, the actors’ acting, and the use of stage production.

Reviews

Reviews

Yingyee Xiong
Dec 3, 2019
There are many misconceptions about human trafficking and many of those misconceptions come from the media portraying victims as helpless and weak. However, through Trafficked Children and Youth in the United States: Re-imagining Survivors by Elzbieta Gozdziak, the author proves that there are more reasons behind human trafficking. There are many things that go behind trafficking children, and some can happen in our very own neighborhood. In this paper, I will be introducing Gozdziak’s discoveries, my discoveries about the book, and the documentation of her work about child trafficking.

Movie and Television News

Movie and Television News

Matthew Fraga
Dec 1, 2019
There is a degree of maturity and patience in “The Irishman” that is unlike anything I have seen. This could only be accomplished by a director like Martin Scorsese. He somehow makes the most mundane and unassuming scenes so damn entertaining. With a three-and-a-half-hour runtime, one would expect frequent bombastic scenes to keep the audience engaged. However, Scorsese seldom implements violence, and when he does, it’s thoroughly gripping. Most of the time, Scorsese elongates scenes by holding the camera on a face longer than expected. Instead of looking away, you look closer and consider what thoughts are racing through the character’s head.

Movie and Television News

Movie and Television News

Matthew Fraga
Nov 30, 2019
I am a firm believer that the trailer is one of the most important pieces of a movie. It is incredibly difficult to strike the perfect balance between showing the audience enough to pique their interest, but not so much that you spoil the movie. Another difficulty is accurately conveying the movie’s tone. Most of the time, trailers mislead the audience and give away too much. As is the case with the “Ford v Ferrari” trailers. From the trailers, it would be fair to assume that the movie’s central focus is around the 1966 Le Mans race, and the production of Ford’s GT40 race car leading up to it.

Movie and Television News

Movie and Television News

Matthew Fraga
Nov 12, 2019
The reason I love movies, is that for two hours I can enter another world. All my worries and doubts take a back seat, and I become a part of a new reality. This is especially the case in Robert Egger’s "The Lighthouse," starring Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattinson.